Managing a partner team

  • Updated

Who is this article for?

This article will be useful to you if you are wondering how to manage a partner team in PartnerStack.

If you are looking to work with other teammates or coworkers on your partnerships, a partner team may be a great option for you.

What are partner teams?

A partner team is a group of partner members working together to cooperatively promote and resell products as a collective, rather than as individuals.

A partner team can be comprised of a single team owner, or a team owner, and multiple members with either member, finance, or admin permissions. 

All partnerships are under the team owner's PartnerStack account, however, using a partner team allows the owner to invite teammates to collaborate with them on their partnerships. Members have access to the team's partnership programs and have unique logins and referral links.

The owner can configure their team's permissions to control what team Members can do and access. 

Creating a partner team

If you are new to PartnerStack, you may be creating an account at dash.partnerstack.com/handshake, or after accepting a company's invite to their partner program. When creating your account, a partner team will automatically be created for you, making you the team owner.

The team owner and team admin control which programs the team joins. If a team owner joins a new program, all partner team members will also have access to that program through the partner team.

If you joined PartnerStack through a partner team invite you will not have a separate partner team, and instead will be a part of the partner team you were invited to. 

If you are a partner team member but would like to create your own partner team

  1. Click on your initial in the top right-hand corner of your dashboard
  2. Click "Profile" from the dropdown
  3. In your account profile, navigate to your "Teams" tab
  4. Click "Create"
    1. Please note, if you already own a partner team you will see the option to "View" your partner team

Once you have created your own partner team you can apply to the PartnerStack Network and when approved, join programs in the PartnerStack Marketplace.

Can I be on multiple partner teams?

Yes, partners can participate on multiple partner teams. A partner can be a member of a team, and have their own separate partner team if desired. 

Both team members and team owners can simultaneously be in multiple partner teams, as well as multiple programs as an individual. 

Changing a team name

Your team's name automatically pulls from your Business name set in your Network Profile. A team's Business name can be updated by the team Owner or a team Admin. 

  1. Click on your initial in the top right-hand corner and select "Network Profile" from the dropdown
  2. Update the "Business name" in the "Tell us about your business" section
  3. Click "Save"

Team member roles

There are four permission levels for partner team members with different preset and customizable permissions.

Owner: The creator of the partner team and overall owner of the partnership. The team owner has full admin access and can withdraw commissions.

It is possible to reassign the team owner, however, this can only be done by the current team owner.

Admin: A teammate with permission to contribute referrals and edit the partner team. Admins cannot withdraw commissions.

Both owners & admin can:

  • Invite new or existing PartnerStack users to their team
  • Remove team members
  • Promote team members to team admins
  • Control partner team configuration
  • Accept the terms and conditions of the partner teams' programs

Member: Members can contribute referrals, but cannot edit the partner team or withdraw commissions.

Finance team member: The finance team member can view and withdraw commissions. 

Screenshot 2024-04-11 at 4.55.24 PM.png

Customizing member user permissions

Partner team owners and team admin can change the level of visibility all teammates with member permissions will have into the performance of the team.

In the team's Roles & Permissions tab, the following permissions can be turned on or off for member teammates.

  • View all deals: If checked, users can view deals submitted by other team members, in addition to their own
  • View all leads: If checked, users can view leads submitted by other team members in addition to their own
  • View all customers: If checked, users can view customers attributed to other team members in addition to their own
  • View commissions: If checked, users can view commissions they have earned in the Commisions tab.

For a team member to have access to the Reporting tab, they will need to have both "View stats" and "View commissions" permissions.

Screenshot 2024-04-11 at 5.00.44 PM.png

Custom permissions set here will apply to all teammates with Member permissions. 

To change the permissions for a team's members:

  1. In your partner team click on the Roles & Permissions tab
  2. In the Members column, select what access you would like your team Members to have
  3. In the top right-hand corner, click "Save"

Inviting, removing, and updating team members 

Teammates can be invited to your partner team from your Members tab by sharing a direct join link, or by inviting the teammate by email. 

Invite a teammate by email:

  1. Log into your account
  2. Click on the drop-down menu in the top right-hand corner
  3. Under your team name select "Members"
  4. In your team's top menu click "Invites
  5. Copy and share the direct invite link with your desired teammate, or enter their email address, and then click "Send Invite". Once sent, the team member will receive an email invite.

Screenshot 2024-03-25 at 3.38.22 PM.png

Lower on the Invites tab you'll be able to see if they've accepted the invite, be able to copy the invite link to share it directly, or resend the invite.

Want to enable domain-based joining? Check out the Partner teams: how to verify your domain for domain-based joining support guide.

To remove or update a team member's role

  1. Log into your account
  2. Click on the drop-down menu in the top right-hand corner
  3. Under your team name select "Members"
  4. Click on the three vertical dots next to the name of the team member you want to remove or update
  5. Select "Remove" or "Update" from the list
    1. "Remove" will require you to confirm that you want to remove the selected member.
    2. "Update" will give you the option to change a team member's permissions. Keep in mind that admins can change the configurations and add, remove, and update other members as well.remove.gif

Transferring team ownership

The current team owner of a team can reassign team ownership.

Once you have transferred ownership of an account to another team member your permissions will change to Admin and you will no longer be able to withdraw commissions on behalf of your team.

Note, that transferring a partner team to a new owner will transfer all partnerships under this partner team to the new owner. 

You will not be able to reverse this action with Admin permissions, however, if you have changed team ownership in error, the new team leader can reassign ownership to you following the steps above.

From your team Members tab click:

  1. Click on the three vertical dots next to the name of the new team owner
  2. In the drawer view that opens select "Owner" 
  3. Click "Transfer ownership"
    PartnerStack%2B2023-05-05%2B14-45-40.png

Team notifications

If you would like to receive notifications when a teammate has joined your team via invite, or domain-based joining, you can enable email notifications in your Team Settings tab by clicking the "Receive an email" checkbox and clicking "Save changes"

Payouts and commissions

All commissions generated as part of a partner team can be withdrawn by the team owner or finance team member. Commissions cannot be split up and withdrawn separately between the team owner and team members within PartnerStack.

For more information on the payment schedule please see How do I get paid?

Deleting a team

If you are on more than one partner team and would like to delete your team, reach out to PartnerStack support. All teammates must be removed from your team and all commissions must be withdrawn before a team can be deleted.

Deleting a team cannot be undone. 

Leaving a team

If you are a partner team member and you would like to leave the team you are on, please reach out to your team owner. The team owner can remove you from the partner team in their Members tab following the directions above.

Was this article helpful?

3 out of 3 found this helpful